Student FAQs

General

Open Mind Tutors is an online platform that connects students to tutors near them. We are based in London currently, with tutors for all subjects and levels. Using the website, you can search, message, book, and pay for tutoring lessons that you may require.

You can search for tutors using the website’s search feature. You may then browse profiles of tutors matching your criteria and message the tutor you wish to book.

To book a lesson, you first sign up as a student on the website. Your information will not be shared with anyone. Once you find a tutor that you wish to book, you may select a timeslot from the tutor’s schedule as it appears on the tutor profile. The tutor will be notified of your booking request and you may communicate through the website’s messaging service. This gives you the opportunity to talk to the tutor about your specific requirements. If you are satisfied, you may then pay for the lesson and finalise the booking.

If a tutor has a slot that allows more than one student, the tutor is hosting a group study lesson and the maximum group size will also be mentioned. The tutor will also publish the course material that he/she intends to teach, however details of this can be discussed using the messaging feature. The price for a group lesson would be lesser as compared to an individual lesson.

It is the same procedure to book a group lesson as it is for group lesson.

The lesson can take place at a location agreed by the tutor and the student through the messaging feature. This should be finalised before the lesson takes place.

Tutors who have sent in their documents to us to be verified will have a “verified” badge on their profiles. This badge simply means that these tutors have sent us proof of their qualifications.

You have to pay for the lessons in advance through our website. The payment button can be accessed in lesson details.

Simply change the status of the lesson from lesson details if you wish to cancel a lesson.

You will be refunded if the tutor cancels the lesson or you cancel the lesson 3 days in advance of the booking.

You can contact us through the contact form on the website. We will get back to you as soon as possible.

In account settings, click delete account.