user profile
Hourly Rate Single Lesson £30/hour
Hourly Rate Group Lesson £40/hour
Rating
Travel Distance 5 miles
Postal Code W3

Dan

Maths tutor

Hey. I'm Dan, a young and passionate mathematician. I started tutoring in high-school, for the Baccalaureate and University Admission tests in Maths and Physics, with excellent results. Since then, I also tutored for primary (Key stage 5), Functional Skills tests, GCSE, A-levels, IB, Oxford uni admission test (MAT), STEP and during term-time, I used to tutor first year undergraduates (mainly from Imperial College and UCL) studying Maths/ CS/ Engineering on the mathematical modules they needed help on. This allowed me to obtain not only a deep knowledge of the subject, but also a great opportunity to understand where difficulties actually arise and how to develop methods to better explain the content.
At the moment, I am studying for a joint Maths degree from Imperial College London and MIT. In my first year I scored 85.5% and I was selected on the Dean's list (top 5%). Starting last summer, I also became a private tutor for the Intermediate Mathematical Olympiad, Senior Mathematical Challenges and BMO 1, a tutoring job which gave me great satisfaction through the progress I saw in my students.
My tutoring approach is an interactive one, in which I try and involve the tutee as much as I can. Throughout time, I understood this is the best way to make problems seem easier and to prevent the new knowledge from being easily forgotten, as this is a common problem with exposure to new content. I usually check the syllabus with the tutee and make sure that we cover each and every topic that he or she is not familiar with, by preparing sheets and exercises for him or her. Then, we try and work past papers and sketch general tricks /methods to solve different types of problems
I think one of the greatest advantages that I have in terms of tutoring and life in general is the ''view'' from two different worlds. I had the chance of obtaining a firm foundation in pure sciences in my home country, Romania, which allowed me to explore almost any mathematical domain I wanted to, together with the international and multicultural perspective and diversity of London.

  • Available
  • Booked
  • Reserved